School of Mathematical Sciences

About us menu

Athena SWAN


What is the Athena SWAN Charter?

The Athena SWAN Charter scheme recognises excellence in Science, Technology, Engineering, Maths and Medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education. The charter's core belief is that it is vitally important that women are adequately represented in what has traditionally been, and is still, a male-dominated area.

The School of Mathematical Sciences holds a departmental-level Bronze Award for the Athena SWAN Charter obtained in April 2013, which recognises and celebrates good employment practice for women working in mathematics, science, engineering and technology in higher education and research. 

We are a registered Supporter of the LMS Good Practice Scheme.

Further information is available here.  





Athena SWAN in the School of Mathematical Sciences

The 2015/2016 Committee Members: 

Professor David Arrowsmith (Chair) and Athena SWAN Champion

Dr Shabnam Beheshti

Dr Robert Johnson

Professor Boris Khoruzhenko

Dr Lucas Lacasa 

Miss Megan Liddle

Professor Malwina Luczak

Dr Vincenzo Nicosia

Ms Emily Pitt

Dr Anna Pachol

Mrs Anitha Rajkumar

Miss Louise Sutton

Mrs Jo Young


School and University Policies and Guidelines


University policies and guidelines :

Flexible working policy:

Family/Parental leave:

Family friendly benefits:

School policies and guidelines :

For information on supporting staff returning from a long absence and on informal flexible working, click here.

To download the child care support during conference attendance policy and application form, click here.

For students-parent: please visit: - a website created in partnership with the National Student Union, and dedicated to provide advice and support for student parents.


Quick links: